A good kind of trouble
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Average Rating
Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.
Format
Large Print
Edition
Large print edition.
ISBN
9781432881535, 1432881531
Status

Description

Loading Description...

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Worcester Main Library - Juvenile FictionJ LT F RAMEEAvailable

More Details

Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.
Edition
Large print edition.
Physical Desc
407 pages 23 cm.
Language
English
ISBN
9781432881535, 1432881531
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 4.5, 9 Points

Notes

Description
"From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what's right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas's The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds. Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules. (Oh, and she'd also like to make it through seventh grade with her best friendships intact, learn to run track, and have a cute boy see past her giant forehead.) But in junior high, it's like all the rules have changed. Now she's suddenly questioning who her best friends are and some people at school are saying she's not black enough. Wait, what? Shay's sister, Hana, is involved in Black Lives Matter, but Shay doesn't think that's for her. After experiencing a powerful protest, though, Shay decides some rules are worth breaking. She starts wearing an armband to school in support of the Black Lives movement. Soon everyone is taking sides. And she is given an ultimatum. Shay is scared to do the wrong thing (and even more scared to do the right thing), but if she doesn't face her fear, she'll be forever tripping over the next hurdle. Now that's trouble, for real"--,Provided by publisher.
Target Audience
Ages 8-12,Thorndike Press.
Target Audience
Grades 7-9,Thorndike Press.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

NoveList

Staff View

Loading Staff View.